skip to main content

Level 3 Certificate/Subsidiary Diploma / Diploma/Extended Diploma in Information Technology

Entry Requirements:
•  BTEC Level 2 in Information Technology(QCF) or

•  4 GCSEs at a grade C or above

•  An appropriate standard of literacy and numeracy

Programme Outline:
The Level 3 in Information Technology has been designed to provide a highly specialist work-related programme of study. It gives learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to prepare for employment.

Examples of some of the units learners would study include ‘Managing Networks’; ‘Digital Graphics’; ‘Software Design and Development’ and ‘IT Systems Trouble Shooting and Repair’. There are three pathways that can be chosen dependent on entry qualifications and experiences.

BTEC Level 3 Certificate in Information Technology (QCF)

This is a 30-credit programme that focuses on particular aspects of employment within the Information Technology sector. The Level 3 Certificate is broadly equivalent to one GCE AS Level.

Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Information Technology (QCF)

This is a 60-credit programme that extends the specialist work related focus from the Level 3 Certificate and covers the key knowledge and practical skills required in the Information Technology sector. The Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma offers greater flexibility and a choice of emphasis through the optional units. It is broadly equivalent to one GCE A Level.

Level 3 Diploma in Information Technology (QCF)

This is a 120-credit programme that broadens and expands the specialist work-related focus from the Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma. It is broadly equivalent to two GCE A Levels

Level 3 Extended Diploma in Information Technology (QCF)

This is a 180-credit programme that extends and deepens the specialist work-related focus from the Level 3 Diploma. There is potential for the qualification to prepare learners for appropriate direct employment in the vocational sector and it is suitable for those who have decided that they wish to enter a particular specialist area of work. Some learners may wish to progress to University. It is broadly equivalent to three GCE A Levels.

Start dates for these programmes are flexible, with completion usually achieved within two to three years.

On successful completion of a Level 3 in IT qualification, learners can progress into employment and/or onto university.

Downloads related to this article:

Share this

What the students say

QAC is fantastic, I love going to College every day and seeing my friends. Performing Arts has helped me to push myself and try new things out of my comfort zone!

Connor - 21

Performing Arts Student

Follw QAC on Facebook Follow QAC on Twitter Follow QAC on LinkedIn Follow QAC on Instagram Visit the QAC YouTube channel